Matt Harvey took a no-hitter into the seventh before giving up three runs in seven-plus innings Tuesday in a victory over the Braves.
Jason Heyward's infield single ended the no-hit bid; Harvey actually had a play on him, but he didn't think he could make the tag after grabbing the ball towards the first base line and decided to flip to first, which happened to be vacant. Harvey got through that inning scoreless anyway, but the eighth was a different story. He loaded the bases with no outs and then got pulled. After he left, all three runners came around to score. The Braves' official scorer made an egregious call on what should have been ruled an error on David Wright, or he would have only allowed one earned run. It took some of the shine of a dominant effort in which Harvey struck out 13. Still, he did pick up his first win since May 17 and his second since April 19.